Readings and Master Classes

 
 
All events are eligible for UGCW class credit. 
To browse a visual version of this Calendar, go here. To subscribe, here.

 

UA Creative Writing/Fine Arts Calendar

Schedule of Events, Spring 2018

 

Legend

VWS (Visiting Writers Series) | MFA (MFA Reading Series) | PP (Pure Products) | ASAP (Alabama Student Association for Poetry) |    

STRD (Hudson Strode Program in Renaissance Studies) | SG (Student Group) | ALT (Everything Anywhere Else)

 

Week 3

ASAP | Monday Jan 22: Open Mic, Monarch Espresso Bar / 714 22nd Ave., 6:30 sign-in / 7 p.m. start

STRD | Monday Jan. 22: Film Series (“Prospero’s Books”), Gorgas 205, 7:30 p.m.

ASAP | Tuesday Jan 23: ASAP Poetry Takeover Slam, Ferguson Center Theater,  7:30 p.m.

SG | Thursday Jan. 25: Creative Campus Printmaking Workshop (must register), Maxwell House, 4 p.m.

ALT | Thursday Jan. 25: Art Lecture, Dr. Gregory Clarke: “Max and Dave Fleischer’s Betty Boop: A 20s Flapper Marooned in the Depression-Era 30s”, Smith 205, 5 p.m. 

SG | Thursday Jan. 25: Creative Writing LLC “New Year’s Revisions” Harris Hall /745 Colonial Dr., 7 p.m.

MFA | Friday Jan. 26: Nathan Blanchard & Michelle Myers, Sella-Granata Gallery / Woods Hall, 4:30 p.m. 

 

Week 4

VWS | Monday Jan. 29: Sarah Manguso Craft Talk (“The Art of Omission”), Morgan 301, 3 p.m.

VWS | Tuesday Jan. 30: An Evening with Sarah Manguso, 7p.m.

Dinah Washington Cultural Arts Center / 620 Greensboro Ave.

ASAP | Tuesday Jan 30: Open Mic, Monarch Espresso Bar / 714 22nd Ave., 6:30 sign-in / 7 p.m. start

ALT | Thursday Feb. 1: Kentuck Art Night, Downtown Northport, 5-8 p.m.

PP | Thursday Feb. 1: Art Night, Monarch Espresso Bar / 714 22nd Ave., 7 p.m.

 

Week 5

SG | Monday Feb. 5: Student Writers Guild Craft Night (Screenwriting), Morgan 301, 7 p.m.

SG | Thursday Feb. 8: EMMA Open Mic, Morgan 301, 6:30 p.m.

SG | Thursday Feb. 8: Creative Writing LLC “V-Day Irony & Poetry” Harris Hall /745 Colonial Dr., 7 p.m.

MFA | Friday Feb. 9: Brett Shaw & Daniel Myers, Sella-Granata Gallery / Woods Hall, 4:30 p.m. 

 

Week 6

VWS | Monday Feb. 12: Kaveh Akbar Master Class (“Mining the Poetic Unconscious”), Morgan 301, 4:30 p.m.

VWS | Monday Feb. 12: Kaveh Akbar and Safiya Sinclair Poetry Reading, Gorgas 205, 7p.m.

VWS | Tuesday Feb. 13: Safiya Sinclair Master Class, Morgan 301, 2 p.m.

ASAP | Tuesday Feb. 13: Open Mic, Monarch Espresso Bar / 714 22nd Ave., 6:30 sign-in / 7 p.m. start

ALT | Wednesday Feb. 14: Reginald Dwayne Betts Poetry Reading, Smith 205, 1 p.m. 

VWS | Wednesday Feb. 14: Reginald Dwayne Betts Master Class, Morgan 301, 3 p.m.

ALT | Wednesday Feb. 14: Reginald Dwayne Betts and Kiese Laymon, ten Hoor 125, 7 p.m.

ASAP | Thursday Feb. 15: Blackout Poetry Slam, Ferguson Center Ballroom, 7:30 p.m. 

STRD | Thursday Feb. 15: Improbable Fictions (“Henry IV part 2”), Gorgas 205, 7:30 p.m.
Dinah Washington Cultural Arts Center / 620 Greensboro Ave.

ALT | Friday Feb. 15: Milton’s Paradise Lost marathon reading, Morgan 301, 8 a.m - line 10565

ASAP | Saturday Feb. 16: Blackout Slam Poets Q&A, Intercultural Diversity Center, 9 a.m. 

 

Week 7

SG | Monday, Feb. 19: UGCW Open Mic (feat. EN 408), UPerk / 405 20th Ave., 6:30 p.m.

MFA | Friday Feb. 23: Diamond Forde & Nabila Lovelace, Sella-Granata Gallery / Woods Hall, 4:30 p.m. 

STRD | Friday Feb. 23: Film Series (“Still Dreaming”), Bama Theatre, 7:30 p.m.

 

Week 8

VWS | Tuesday Feb. 27: Lili Loofbourow Master Class, Morgan 301, 11 a.m.

VWS | Tuesday Feb. 27: Jenny Gropp Master Class, Morgan 301, 3:30 p.m.

ALT | Tuesday Feb. 27: 2018 Day Lecture (Elijah Siegler): “Myth, Meaning and Morality in the Films of the Coen Brothers”, Smith 205, 7 p.m. 

VWS | Monday Feb. 27: Lili Loofbourow and Jenny Gropp XFA Reading, Morgan 301, 4:30 p.m.

ASAP | Tuesday Feb. 27: Open Mic, Monarch Espresso Bar / 714 22nd Ave., 6:30 sign-in / 7 p.m. start

ALT | Thursday March 1: Kentuck Art Night, Downtown Northport, 5-8 p.m.

PP | Thursday March 1: Art Night, Monarch Espresso Bar / 714 22nd Ave., 7 p.m.

MFA | Friday March 2: Kyle Macy & Alex Bauer, Sella-Granata Gallery / Woods Hall, 4:30 p.m. 

 

Week 9

SG | Monday March 5: Student Writers Guild Craft Night (Get Published), Morgan 301, 7 p.m.

SG | Tuesday March 6: Creative Writing LLC March Event, Harris Hall / 745 Colonial Dr., 7 p.m.

 

Week 10

SG | Monday, March 19: UGCW Open Mic (feat. EN 30X), UPerk / 405 20th Ave., 6:30 p.m.

STRD | Monday March 19: Film Series (“Bedazzled”), Gorgas 205, 7:30 p.m.

VWS | Wednesday March 21: Bullets into Bells: Poets and Citizens Respond to Gun Violence, TBD, 7 p.m.

PP | Thursday March 22: Open Mic, Monarch Espresso Bar / 714 22nd Ave., 7 p.m.

 

Week 11

ALT | Monday March 26: Sonic Frontiers—Rova Sax Quartet, Moody Concert Hall, 7:30 p.m.

VWS | Monday March 26: Jon Raskin of Rova Quartet (“Poetry+Jazz/Jazz+Poetry”), Morgan 301, 9:30 a.m.

ASAP | Tuesday March 27: Open Mic, Monarch Espresso Bar / 714 22nd Ave., 6:30 sign-in / 7 p.m. start

VWS | Thursday March 29: Billy Field Master Class (“The Story Acorn”), Morgan 301, 3:30 p.m.

MFA | Friday March 30: shelley feller & Reem Abu-Baker, Sella-Granata Gallery / Woods Hall, 4:30 p.m. 

Week 12

VWS | Tuesday April 3: Matt Bell Master Class (“Revising and Rewriting”), Morgan 301, 12:30 p.m.

VWS | Tuesday April 3: An Evening with Matt Bell, 7p.m.

Dinah Washington Cultural Arts Center / 620 Greensboro Ave.

ALT | Thursday April 5: Kentuck Art Night, Downtown Northport, 5-8 p.m.

PP | Thursday April 5: Art Night, Monarch Espresso Bar / 714 22nd Ave., 7 p.m.

 

Week 13

STRD | Monday April 9: Film Series (“The Merchant of Venice”), Bama Theatre, 7:30 p.m.

ASAP | Tuesday April 10: Open Mic, Monarch Espresso Bar / 714 22nd Ave., 6:30 sign-in / 7 p.m. start 

SG | Thursday April 12: Creative Writing LLC April Event, Harris Hall / 745 Colonial Dr., 7 p.m.

 

Week 14

VWS | Thursday April 19: Jahman Hill Master Class, Morgan 301, 11 a.m.

PP | Thursday April 19: Open Mic, Monarch Espresso Bar / 714 22nd Ave., 7 p.m.

STRD | Thursday April 19: Improbable Fictions (Edward Bond’s “Bingo”), 7:30 p.m.
Dinah Washington Cultural Arts Center / 620 Greensboro Ave.

 

Week 15

SG | Monday April 23: UGCW Open Mic (feat. EN 200), UPerk / 405 20th Ave., 6:30 p.m.

ASAP | Tuesday April 24: Open Mic, Monarch Espresso Bar / 714 22nd Ave., 6:30 sign-in / 7 p.m. start 

SG | Wednesday April 25: UG Lit Journal Launch Party-Contributor Reading, TBD, 4 p.m.

ASAP | Monday April 30: Thousand Dollar Poetry Slam, Ferguson Theater, 7 p.m. 

 

 

 

 

 

Other Campus and Area Arts Events

 

UA Music/Opera Program Events Calendar (https://music.ua.edu/events/2018-02/)

Too Numerous to list: check it out!

 

UA Theatre and Dance Events Calendar (https://theatre.ua.edu/season/2017-2018/)

Feb. 13-18: Vinegar Tom

Feb. 20-24: Alabama Repertory Dance Theatre

Feb. 26-March 3: A Bright Room Called Day

March 27-31: Dance Alabama!

April 9 -15: I Gelosi

April 17-22: Sweeney Todd

April 20: Dance Collection

 

Bama Theatre (+Art House Film Series)

Jan. 16: Goodbye Christopher Robin (AHFS)

Jan. 23: Maudie (AHFS)

Jan. 30: The Square (AHFS)

Feb. 3: Tuscaloosa Africana Film Festival

Feb. 6: Jane (AHFS)

Feb. 13: 2018 Oscar Nominated Short Films (AHFS)

Feb. 14: Alabama Shakespeare Festival presents: Bear Country

March 29: LUNAFEST (short films for, by and about women)

April 23: UA Resonance Show Choir

April 24: UA Center for Ethics presents: Documenting Justice (student films)

 

 

Sarah Moody Gallery Spring Exhibition Schedule 

Jan. 3 – 26: Department of Art and Art History Studio Faculty Biennial

Feb. 8–March 23: Tracery and Plane: Paintings by Robert Kushner 

February 7: Gallery Walkthrough by Robert Kushner, 103 Garland, 6 p.m.

February 8: Opening Reception, 5-7 p.m.

April 5-May 18: Dual Current: Inseparable Elements in Painting and Architecture

TBA: Opening Reception

 

Sella-Granata Art Gallery Spring Exhibition Schedule

Feb. 1-5: Master of Arts exhibition

Feb. 2: Reception, 4-6 pm

March 19-30: Master of Fine Arts Exhibition, Sella-Granata Art Gallery

TBA: Opening Reception, 4-6 pm

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
(photo credit: Joel Brouwer)