

to all our outstanding English majors!

UA English Department Honors Day April 8th , 2021



Scholarships

The Lee David Black & Florence Weinberg Black Memorial Scholarship

Jacob Camden Erich Guenther

The Buford Boone Memorial Scholarship

Alli Swann

The William March Memorial Scholarship

Alex Jones
Kallen McCain

The May S. Strickland Memorial Endowed English Scholarship

Dalton Davidson
Anna Isabella Jackson

The Emerson Robert Loomis Endowed Scholarship in English Literature

Madison Woodbury

The I. Willis Russell Memorial Scholarship

Aleksey Lisko Leah Cameron Watts

The Frank Cosby Memorial English Scholarship

Margaret Lyons

The Watkins Family Endowed Scholarship in English

Riley Michlowitz

The O.B. Emerson Endowed Scholarship

Keerthana Manoj Anna Lee Thornton

The Carolyn P. Handa Memorial Scholarship

Dalton Davidson

Graduating with Honors in English

Zoe DeLapp Kaisharis

"Death and Filial Identity in Shakespeare's Hamlet"

Faculty Advisor: Michelle Dowd

Jeffrey Kelly, Jr.

"Blue Boys Don't Cry"

Faculty Advisor: Heidi Staples

Keerthana Manoj

"Atmini"

Faculty Advisor: Heidi Staples

Theodora Mae Stoker

"None else of name: Status, Remembrance, and Power in *The Henriad*"

Faculty Advisor: Tricia McElroy

Coleman Teaford

"Lions, Beetles, and Flies, Oh My! The Significance of Animals and Insects in Gregory Maguire's Wicked Years"

Faculty Advisor: David Deutsch

Emma K. Vujaklija

"Milton's Night: A Survey of the First Female in Paradise Lost"

Faculty Advisor: David Ainsworth

Graduating with Honors in English

Sala T. Bandele-Jackson

"How Do We Amplify the Voices of 'Dark' Children?: Nguzo Saba and African American Rhetoric in the Classroom"

Faculty Advisor: Amber Buck

Katherine Bolliger

"'What Lies Before Me is My Past': Oscar Wilde, Narrative Power, and the Downfall of a Name"

Faculty Advisor: Dan Novak

Victoria Carl

"My Right to Reside Within My Own Mind: Interiority, Monstrosity, and Subversion in Carmen Maria Machado's Her Body and Other Parties"

Faculty Advisor: Andy Crank

Michelle Hasenkampf

"Lisa Genova's Neurological Novels: Narrative Prosthesis and Communication Disorders"

Faculty Advisor: Deborah Weiss

Riley Elizabeth Hines

"The Sensation Novel's Assault on Victorian Normativity: the Shocking Novels of Collins, Wood, and Braddon"

Faculty Advisor: Albert Pionke

Department Awards

Outstanding Critical or Research Essay by an English Major
Riley Elizabeth Hines

Outstanding Scholarly Essay by a Graduating Senior **Kyra Lockhart**

The Hudson Strode Prize
Alli Swann

The John Blanke Prize

Angelina Skinkle

Student Spotlight

Aleah Brown Genesis Drake Tegan Murrell



Creative Writing

The Ruth King Larcom Fine Arts Scholarship in Creative Writing

Tegan Murrell

Keri Westerfield

The Michael Dalton Goodson Memorial Prize in Poetry

1st Place: David Price 2nd Place: Tegan Murrell 3rd Place: Leigha Whitridge

The Greer Marechal Memorial Prize in Fiction

1st Place: Meghan Friend
2nd Place: Alyssa Schoonmaker
3rd Place: Nikolas Clark

The Greer Marechal Memorial Prize in Creative Nonfiction

1st Place: Nathaniel Hudson 2nd Place: Alexandria Wachal 3rd Place: Mary Caroline Yuk

Student Writers Guild Leadership

President: Morgan Lawhorn
Vice President: J.D. Butler

Treasurer: Maximiliano Cabrera Arevalo

Secretary: Tyler Arnold

Marr's Field Journal Staff

Tyler Arnold Genesis Drake Trevor D. Henry

Student Leadership



Officers of Sigma Tau Delta, International English Honor Society

President: Samantha Braht
Vice President: Keegan Hinsley
Treasurer: Sydney Noordsy
Secretary: Emma King

Award for Outstanding Service to Sigma Tau Delta

Samantha Braht

Officers of English Majors and Minors Association

President: Emma King

Vice President: Kenzie Wilbourne

Treasurer: Marie Burns
Secretary: Spencer Cook
PR Director: Quade Mainzer

Events Coordinator: Alexandria Wachal Service Coordinator: Kenzie Wilbourne