

Department Scholarships

2023-2024

The Lee David Black and Florence Weinberg Black Memorial Scholarship

Autumn Carpenter

Hannah French

The Frank Cosby Memorial English Scholarship

Shrishti Dubey

The Buford Boone Memorial Scholarship

Cassandra

Montgomery

The O. B. Emerson Endowed Scholarship

Mallory McLauchlin Eleonora Rosalba Newell

The William March Memorial Scholarship

Morgan Holder

Alicia Pautienus

The May S. Strickland Memorial Endowed English Scholarship



Jordan Steele

The Emerson Robert Loomis Endowed Scholarship in English Literature

Mary Mcintire

The Norton-Textra Endowed Scholarship for Minority Students in English

Zion Lewis

The I. Willis Russell Memorial Scholarship

Andrew Aultman

Katie Riese

The Harrison Family Endowed Scholarship

Jackson Alsup

The Watkins Family Endowed Scholarship in English

Sarah Scarcliff

The Carolyn P. Handa Memorial Scholarship

Jhermia Hedgeman

Department Awards

2023

Outstanding Critical or Research Essay by an English Major

Justin Gordon

Outstanding Scholarly Essay by a Graduating Senior

Ellie Taube

The Hudson Strode Prize

Morgan Holder

The John Blanke Prize

Hannah Renda

Creative Writing Awards

2023

The Ruth King Larcom Fine Arts Scholarship in Creative Writing

Autumn Carpenter

Jermaya Martin

The Greer Marechal Memorial Prize in Fiction

1st Place: Jessica Pelton

"The Woman Who Sees

in Black and White"

The Greer Marechal Memorial Prize in Fiction

2nd Place: William Sweatt "The Efficiency Complex"

The Greer Marechal Memorial Prize in Fiction

3rd Place: Sorina Gantt "Berlin, February 1933"

The Michael Dalton Goodson Memorial Prize in Poetry

1st Place: Lauren Chumbley "Naming Ritual" "Argument from Silence, or Lying by Omission" "Ice Storm"

The Michael Dalton Goodson Memorial Prize in Poetry

2nd Place: Bianca McCarty "Shower Mold"

"Memphis"

"To Be"

The Michael Dalton Goodson Memorial Prize in Poetry

3rd Place: Jennafer Bowman "A Childhood Medley"

The Greer Marechal Memorial Prize in Creative Nonfiction

1st Place: Claire Holcomb "A Reflection on My Best Work"

The Greer Marechal Memorial Prize in Creative Nonfiction

2nd Place: Jacob Camden "Excerpts from Study Abroad"

The Greer Marechal Memorial Prize in Creative Nonfiction

3rd Place: Helen Babb "A Memoir of Travels"

Student Leadership

2022-2023

Writers Guild

Officers

President: Katarina Miller Vice President: Mo Edwards Secretary: Garrett Christian Stephens Treasurer: John Morgan Underwood

Sigma Tau Delta

International English Honor Society

Officers

President: Brandy Martinez Vice President: Grace Sherman and Eleonora Newell Treasurer: Ella Huffaker and Alaina Jones Dewpoint Editor: Briana Singleton Philanthropy Director: Jolie Money Communications Director: Mallory McLauchlin

Fall 2022 Sigma Tau Delta Inductees

Andrew Aultman Laura Brooks Jordan Evans Hannah French Hayley Green Hughes W. Green Morgan Holder Vivian Huff Kelsie Jackson Alaina Jones Alaina Kelley Quade Mainzer Samantha Mattison Mallory McLauchin Cassandra Montgomery Anna Kate Moorer

Eleonora Rosalba Newell Madison Ratliff Devincia Rogers Brianna Singleton Victoria Velasquez Andrew Weisenfeld Olivia Marie Womack Audrey Woodruff 2023 Sigma Tau Delta International Convention Presenters

Jacob Camden Eleonora Rosalba Newell

Award for Outstanding Service to Sigma Tau Delta

Brandy Martinez

EMMA

English Majors and Minors Association

Officers

President: Quade Mainzer Vice President: Mo Edwards Secretary: Emma Mural Treasurer: Spencer Cook PR Director: Jordan Evans Social Events Coordinator: Cassandra Montgomery Service Coordinator: Vivian Huff

Graduating with Honors in English

Students completing an Honors Thesis in Fall 2022 or Spring 2023

Jacob Camden

"Justifying Lives through Narrative in the Works of Jorge Luis Borges"

Faculty Advisor: Fred Whiting

Caitlin Crowder

"Sickness, Gender, and Domesticity in Jane Austen's *Emma*" Faculty Advisor: Dan Novak

Hughes W. Green

"Education in William Cowper's *The Task*" Faculty Advisor: Steve Tedeschi

Kaili McGrew

"The Molly House"

Faculty Advisor: Stephanie Marker

Joseph Arnold

"A Blessing of Water"

and "The Chest" Faculty Advisor: Riley Bingham

Hannah Renda

"The Path to Solidarity: Internalized Misogyny and Agency in *The Handmaid's Tale*"

Faculty Advisor: Lauren Cardon

Student Spotlight

Jacob Camden Brina Harden Cassandra Montgomery

